Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0156. ஒறுத்தார்க்கு ஒருநாளை இன்பம்

0156. Oruththaarkku Orunaalai Inbam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொறையுடைமை (Poraiyudaimai)
    The Possession of Patience: Forbearance
  • குறள்
    ஒறுத்தார்க்கு ஒருநாளை இன்பம் பொறுத்தார்க்குப்
    பொன்றுந் துணையும் புகழ்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தீமை செய்தவரைத் தண்டித்தவருக்கு உண்டாவது ஒரு நாளைய இன்பமேயாகும். அதனைப் பொறுத்துக் கொண்டவர்க்கு உலகம் அழியும் வரையில் புகழ் உண்டு.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who wreak their wrath have pleasure for a day;
    Who bear have praise till earth shall pass away.
  • Meaning
    The pleasure of the resentful continues for a day. The praise of the patient will continue until (the final destruction of) the world.


Post a Comment