Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0146. பகைபாவம் அச்சம் பழியென

0146. Pagaipaavam Achcham Pazhiyena

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    பிறனில் விழையாமை (Piranil Vizhaiyaamai)
    Not Coveting Another's Wife
  • குறள்
    பகைபாவம் அச்சம் பழியென நான்கும்
    இகவாவாம் இல்லிறப்பான் கண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறனுடைய மனைவியை விரும்பி அவன் வீட்டில் செல்பவனிடத்தில் பகை, பாவம், பழி, பயம் என்னும் நான்கும் நீங்காமல் இருக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who home ivades, from him pass nevermore,
    Hatred and sin, fear, foul disgrace; these four.
  • Meaning
    Hatred, sin, fear, disgrace; these four will never leave him who goes in to his neighbour's wife.


Post a Comment