Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0139. ஒழுக்க முடையவர்க்கு ஒல்லாவே

0139. Ozhukka Mudaiyavarkku Ollaave

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஒழுக்கமுடைமை (Ozhukkamudaimai)
    The Possession of Decorum
  • குறள்
    ஒழுக்க முடையவர்க்கு ஒல்லாவே தீய
    வழுக்கியும் வாயாற் சொலல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மறந்தும் தீயசொற்களை வாயினால் சொல்லும் செயல் நல்லொழுக்கம் உடையவர்க்கு ஆகாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    It cannot be that they who 'strict decorum's' law fulfil,
    E'en in forgetful mood, should utter words of ill.
  • Meaning
    Those who study propriety of conduct will not speak evil, even forgetfully.


Post a Comment