Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1301. புல்லா திராஅப் புலத்தை

1301. Pullaa Thiraaap Pulaththai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி (Pulavi)
  • குறள்
    புல்லா திராஅப் புலத்தை அவர்உறும்
    அல்லல்நோய் காண்கம் சிறிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    தலைவி! நீ காதலரோடு விரைவில் தழுவாது இருந்து பிணங்கு; அப்போது காதலை அடையும் துன்ப நோயினைச் சிறிது காண்போம்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Be still reserved, decline his profferred love;
    A little while his sore distress we 'll prove.
  • Meaning
    Let us witness awhile his keen suffering; just feign dislike and embrace him not.


Post a Comment