Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1288. இளித்தக்க இன்னா செயினும்

1288. Iliththakka Inna Seyinum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புணர்ச்சி விதும்பல் (Punarchchi Vithumbal)
    Desire for Reunion
  • குறள்
    இளித்தக்க இன்னா செயினும் களித்தார்க்குக்
    கள்ளற்றே கள்வநின் மார்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    கள்வனே! உனது மார்பானது, உண்டுகளித்தவர்க்கு இழிவு வரத்தக்க துன்பத்தைக் கொடுத்தாலும் அவரால் விரும்பப்படும் கள்ளைப் போன்றதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though shameful ill it works, dear is the palm-tree wine
    To drunkards; traitor, so to me that breast of thine!
  • Meaning
    O you rogue! your breast is to me what liquor is to those who rejoice in it, though it only gives them an unpleasant disgrace.


Post a Comment