Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1266. வருகமன் கொண்கன் ஒருநாள்

1266. Varukaman Konkan Orunaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவர்வயின் விதும்பல் (Avarvayin Vithumbal)
    Mutual Desire
  • குறள்
    வருகமன் கொண்கன் ஒருநாள் பருகுவன்
    பைதல்நோய் எல்லாம் கெட.
  • விளக்கம்
    என் கணவன் என்றேனும் ஒருநாள் வருவானாக; வந்தால் இத்துன்பம் தரும் நோயெல்லாம் கெடுமாறு இன்பம் அனுபவிப்பேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    O let my spouse but come again to me one day!
    I'll drink that nectar: wasting grief shall flee away.
  • Meaning
    May my husband return some day; and then will I enjoy (him) so as to destroy all this agonizing sorrow.


Post a Comment