Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1195. நாம்காதல் கொண்டார் நமக்கெவன்

1195. Naamkaathal Kondaar Namakkevan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    தனிப்படர் மிகுதி (Thanippadar Miguthi)
    The Solitary Anguish
  • குறள்
    நாம்காதல் கொண்டார் நமக்கெவன் செய்பவோ
    தாம்காதல் கொள்ளாக் கடை.
  • விளக்கம்
    தாம் காதல் செய்யாதபோது, என்னால் காதலிக்கப்பட்டவர் எனக்கு என்ன இன்பத்தைச் செய்வார்?
  • Translation
    in English
    From him I love to me what gain can be,
    Unless, as I love him, he loveth me?
  • Meaning
    He who is beloved by me, what will he do to me, if I am not beloved by him ?


Post a Comment