Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1153. அரிதரோ தேற்றம் அறிவுடையார்

1153. Aritharo Thetram Arivudaiyaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    பிரிவாற்றாமை (Pirivaatraamai)
    Separation Unendurable
  • குறள்
    அரிதரோ தேற்றம் அறிவுடையார் கண்ணும்
    பிரிவோ ரிடத்துண்மை யான்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவுடையாராகிய காதலரிடத்தும் ஒவ்வொரு சமயம் பிரிவு உண்டாதலால், 'பிரியேன்' என்று அவர் சொன்ன சொல்லை நம்புவதற்கு அரிதாயிருக்கின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    To trust henceforth is hard, if ever he depart,
    E'en he, who knows his promise and my breaking heart.
  • Meaning
    As even the lover who understands (everything) may at times depart, confidence is hardly possible.


Post a Comment