Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1114. காணின் குவளை கவிழ்ந்து

1114. Kaanin Kuvalai Kavizhndhu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நலம் புனைந்துரைத்தல் (Nalam Punaindhuraiththal)
    The Praise of her Beauty
  • குறள்
    காணின் குவளை கவிழ்ந்து நிலன்நோக்கும்
    மாணிழை கண்ணொவ்வேம் என்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    குவளை மலர்களுக்குப் பார்க்கக்கூடிய தன்மை இருக்குமானால், அவை அழகிய அணிகள் அணிந்த இவளது கண்களுக்கு நாம் ஒப்பாகமாட்டோம் என்று எண்ணி நாணிக் குனிந்து நிலத்தைப் பார்க்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The lotus, seeing her, with head demiss, the ground would eye,
    And say, 'With eyes of her, rich gems who wears, we cannot vie.'
  • Meaning
    If the blue lotus could see, it would stoop and look at the ground saying, "I can never resemble the eyes of this excellent jewelled one."


Post a Comment