Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1097. செறாஅச் சிறுசொல்லும் செற்றார்போல்

1097. Seraaach Chirusollum Setraarpol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    குறிப்பறிதல் (Kuripparithal)
    Recognition of the Signs (of Mutual Love)
  • குறள்
    செறாஅச் சிறுசொல்லும் செற்றார்போல் நோக்கும்
    உறாஅர்போன்று உற்றார் குறிப்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    உள்ளே சினமில்லாதிருந்து சொல்லும் இழிந்த சொல்லும் பகைவர் போல் பார்த்தாலும் வெளியே தொடர்பில்லாதவர் போன்றிருந்து, உள்ளே நட்புடையவரின் குறிகளாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The slighting words that anger feign, while eyes their love reveal.
    Are signs of those that love, but would their love conceal.
  • Meaning
    Little words that are harsh and looks that are hateful are (but) the expressions of lovers who wish to act like strangers.


Post a Comment