Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0986. சால்பிற்குக் கட்டளை யாதெனின்

0986. Saalpirkuk Kattalai Yaathenin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    சான்றாண்மை (Saandraanmai)
  • குறள்
    சால்பிற்குக் கட்டளை யாதெனின் தோல்வி
    துலையல்லார் கண்ணும் கொளல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    சால்பாகிய பொன்னின் அளவு அறிவதற்கு உரை கல்லாகிய செயல் எதுவென்றால், அது, தம்மை விடத் தாழ்ந்தவரிடத்தும் தமக்குத் தோல்வி வந்தால் அதனை ஒப்புக் கொள்ளுதலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    What is perfection's test? The equal mind.
    To bear repulse from even meaner men resigned.
  • Meaning
    The touch-stone of perfection is to receive a defeat even at the hands of one's inferiors.


Post a Comment