Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0806. எல்லைக்கண் நின்றார் துறவார்

0806. Ellaikkan Nindraar Thuravaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பழைமை (Pazhaimai)
  • குறள்
    எல்லைக்கண் நின்றார் துறவார் தொலைவிடத்தும்
    தொல்லைக்கண் நின்றார் தொடர்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    நட்பின் எல்லையை மீறாது நிற்பவர், தம்மோடு பழைமையாக வந்த நண்பரது நட்பை, அவரால் கேடு வந்தபோதும் விடமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who stand within the bounds quit not, though loss impends,
    Association with the old familiar friends.
  • Meaning
    Those who stand within the limits (of true friendship) will not even in adversity give up the intimacy of long-standing friends.


Post a Comment