Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0802. நட்பிற் குறுப்புக் கெழுதகைமை

0802. Natpir Kuruppuk Kezhuthakaimai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பழைமை (Pazhaimai)
  • குறள்
    நட்பிற் குறுப்புக் கெழுதகைமை மற்றதற்கு
    உப்பாதல் சான்றோர் கடன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நட்பிற்கு உறுப்பாவது, நண்பர் உரிமையால் செய்யும் செயலாகும்; அதை மகிழ்வோடு ஏற்பது அறிவுடையோர் கடமையாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Familiar freedom friendship's very frame supplies;
    To be its savour sweet is duty of the wise.
  • Meaning
    The constituents of friendship are (things done through) the right of intimacy; to be pleased with such a right is the duty of the wise.


Post a Comment