Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0706. அடுத்தது காட்டும் பளிங்குபோல்

0706. Aduththathu Kaattum Palingupol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    குறிப்பறிதல் (Kuripparithal)
    The Knowledge of Indications
  • குறள்
    அடுத்தது காட்டும் பளிங்குபோல் நெஞ்சம்
    கடுத்தது காட்டும் முகம்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தன்னையடுத்த பொருளின் நிறத்தைத் தான் கொண்டு காட்டும் பளிங்குபோல, ஒருவன் மனத்தில் இருப்பதை அவன் முகம் காட்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    As forms around in crystal mirrored clear we find,
    The face will show what's throbbing in the mind.
  • Meaning
    As the mirror reflects what is near so does the face show what is uppermost in the mind.


Post a Comment