Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0619. தெய்வத்தான் ஆகா தெனினும்

0619. Theivaththaan Aagaa Theninum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஆள்வினை உடைமை (Aalvinai Udaimai)
    Manly Effort
  • குறள்
    தெய்வத்தான் ஆகா தெனினும் முயற்சிதன்
    மெய்வருத்தக் கூலி தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    முயன்ற தொழில் ஊழ்வயத்தால் கருதிய பயனைக் கொடுக்க வில்லையாயினும், அம்முயற்சி உடம்பை வருத்திய அளவுக்குக் கூலி தரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though fate-divine should make your labour vain;
    Effort its labour's sure reward will gain.
  • Meaning
    Although it be said that, through fate, it cannot be attained, yet labour, with bodily exertion, will yield its reward.


Post a Comment