Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0601. குடியென்னும் குன்றா விளக்கம்

0601. Kudiyennum Kundraa Vilakkam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    மடி இன்மை (Madi Inmai)
  • குறள்
    குடியென்னும் குன்றா விளக்கம் மடியென்னும்
    மாசூர மாய்ந்து கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    குடி என்று சொல்லப்படுகின்ற மங்காத விளக்கு, ஒருவனுடைய சோம்பலாகிய மாசு சேரச்சேர மங்கி அணைந்து போகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Of household dignity the lustre beaming bright,
    Flickers and dies when sluggish foulness dims its light.
  • Meaning
    By the darkness, of idleness, the indestructible lamp of family (rank) will be extinguished.


Post a Comment