Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0553. நாடொறும் நாடி முறைசெய்யா

0553. Naadorum Naadi Muraiseiyaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கொடுங்கோன்மை (Kodungonmai)
    The Cruel Sceptre
  • குறள்
    நாடொறும் நாடி முறைசெய்யா மன்னவன்
    நாடொறும் நாடு கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நாள்தொறும் நாட்டில் நடக்கும் நன்மை தீமைகளை ஆராய்ந்து நீதி செலுத்தாத மன்னன், நாள்தொறும் தனது நாட்டை இழந்து கொண்டே வருவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who makes no daily search for wrongs, nor justly rules, that king
    Doth day by day his realm to ruin bring.
  • Meaning
    The country of the king who does not daily examine into the wrongs done and distribute justice, will daily fall to ruin.


Post a Comment