Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0268. தன்னுயிர் தான்அறப் பெற்றானை

0268. Thannuyir Thaanarap Petraanai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    தன்னுயிர் தான்அறப் பெற்றானை ஏனைய
    மன்னுயி ரெல்லாந் தொழும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தனது உயிரைத் தனக்கு உரிமையாகப் பெற்றவனை, அவ்வாறு பெறாத மற்ற உயிர்களெல்லாம் வணங்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who gains himself in utter self-control,
    Him worships every other living soul.
  • Meaning
    All other creatures will worship him who has attained the control of his own soul.


Post a Comment