Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0228. ஈத்துவக்கும் இன்பம் அறியார்கொல்

0228. Eeththuvakkum Inbam Ariyaarkol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஈகை (Eegai)
  • குறள்
    ஈத்துவக்கும் இன்பம் அறியார்கொல் தாமுடைமை
    வைத்திழக்கும் வன்க ணவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தமது செல்வத்தைச் சேர்த்து வைத்துப் பின் அதனை இழந்து போகின்ற கொடியவர், வறியவர்க்குக் கொடுத்து அவர்கள் மகிழ்வதால் தமக்கு உண்டாகும் இன்பத்தை அறிய மாட்டார்கள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Delight of glad'ning human hearts with gifts do they not know.
    Men of unpitying eye, who hoard their wealth and lose it so?
  • Meaning
    Do the hard-eyed who lay up and lose their possessions not know the happiness which springs from the pleasure of giving ?


Post a Comment