Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0152. பொறுத்தல் இறப்பினை என்றும்

0152. Poruththal Irappinai Endrum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொறையுடைமை (Poraiyudaimai)
    The Possession of Patience: Forbearance
  • குறள்
    பொறுத்தல் இறப்பினை என்றும் அதனை
    மறத்தல் அதனினும் நன்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர் செய்யும் அளவற்ற தீமையை எப்பொழுதும் பொறுத்துக் கொள்ளுதல் வேண்டும்; அதனை உடனே மறந்துவிடுதல் அப்பொறுமையை விட நல்லது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Forgiving trespasses is good always;
    Forgetting them hath even higher praise;
  • Meaning
    Bear with reproach even when you can retaliate; but to forget it will be still better than that.


Post a Comment